Investigating reactive molecules through spectroscopy

Dr. Jennifer van Wijngaarden explores microwave and infrared spectroscopy and the fundamental properties of molecules: to generate new species of molecules that aren’t stable under normal atmospheric conditions, the types of molecules found around stars and far-out planets and moons that drive the evolution of the Universe.

Studying the structure-function relationship of proteins

Dr. Jörg Stetefeld examines the structure-function relationship of proteins as dynamic systems: how are they involved in signalling complexes related to human disease and how can they be used for biomedical or industrial remediation applications.

Synthesizing novel anti-cancer agents

Dr. Frank Schweizer and a team of University of Manitoba researchers, have identified a unique way to potentially treat and cure cancer using carbohydrate-based antitumor agents.

Safeguarding our water

Co-founded by Drs. Gregg Tomy and Jörg Stetefeld the Centre for Oil and Gas Research and Development (COGRAD) studies more efficient ways to assess the effects of petrochemicals on our water supply.

Research and Teaching Excellence

The Department of Chemistry has a long history of success including a recent Nobel Laureate and two Banting Fellows.

State of the Art Instrumentation

The Department has access to a variety of state of the art instrumentation facilities and highly skilled staff available for service to researchers, students and the industrial community.

News & Events


Fall 2018 Parker Communication’s Released!

The Department newsletter, Parker Communications, has just been released.   Have a read of the newsletter to keep up-to-date with all of the Department news since this summer.


Funding Success!

Congratulations to Dr. David Herbert who received a Research Manitoba 2018 New Investigator Operating Grant!


UM Today: University of Manitoba receives 10 Canada Research Chairs

The Honourable Kirsty Duncan, Minister of Science and Sport, was on the University of Manitoba campus on Nov. 14 to announce investments in the Canada Research Chairs Program, of which the University of Manitoba is a major recipient, with 10 Chairs named today. Canada Research Chairs (CRC) improve our depth of knowledge and quality of life,...


Student Awards Night 2018

On November 8 the Department of Chemistry celebrated the successes of our undergraduate and graduate students at the annual Department of Chemistry Student Awards Night.  A total of $125,000 was awarded to graduate and undergraduate students.  Click here for pictures from the evening. The Canadian Society for Chemistry Medal A medal is awarded to the...


Alumni Feedback Wanted!

The Department of Chemistry is in the process of revamping our entire curriculum as a result of separating the laboratory components from lecture components in courses.  In this new program model students will be taking laboratory courses for credit! The Department is interested in hearing from alumni on their thoughts and experiences when they went...


Welcome Professor Ned Budisa!

The Department is excited to welcome its newest member, Professor Ned Budisa.  He is renowned for his pioneering work in genetic code engineering, chemical synthetic biology, synthetic life, biomaterials, biocontainment and the role of proline in proteins. For more information on his research, please visit his website:


The Department of Chemistry welcomes two of its newest professors: Drs. Sabine Kuss and Christian Kuss.

Dr. Sabine Kuss’ research focuses on electrochemistry and its application to biological systems in the fields of endocrinological diseases, antibiotic drug resistance in pathogens, mitochondrial dysfunctions and cancer development. Disease detection, quantification of cell membrane receptor activity and position, monitoring the correlation of membrane pumps with feature activity, and electrochemical sensing are specific targets of...


Professor Philip Gregory Hultin Passes Away

It is with great sadness that the Department of Chemistry announces the passing of Professor Philip Gregory Hultin on August 15. Dr.Hultin has been an integral member of the Department of Chemistry at the University of Manitoba since 1993 and has been leading a research group, teaching undergraduate and graduate courses and participating actively in...


Parker Communications has been released!

Find out what’s happened around the Department in 2018 in the recent issue of Parker Communications, our Department newsletter.


Congratulations Department Teaching Assistant Award Winners!

The Department of Chemistry Teaching Assistant Award winners for 2018 are:  Alexander Pritchard (for teaching at the 1000 level) and Mary Hernando and Grace Idowu (for teaching at the 2000 level). Other nominees:  Fahim Alam, Ronald Domalaon, Jorge Dourado, Yaroslav Germanov, Druba Ghosh, Pavan Mandapati, Rajarshi Mondal, Dion Nemez, Dustin Nevonen, Simarpreet Singh. Congratulations all and...